Carlisle is a district with the official title of city, in the county of Cumbria and has 108,000 inhabitants. It was formed on April 1, 1974 through the merger of County Borough Carlisle and Rural District Border. The surface area is 1039 kmĀ². Its capital is Carlisle, where two thirds of the population also lives.

17.9% of the population is over 65 years of age. Unemployment accounts for 3.5% of the labor force (2001 census figures).

Civil parishes in Carlisle district:
Arthuret, Askerton, Beaumont, Bewcastle, Brampton, Burgh by Sands, Burtholme, Carlatton, Castle Carrock, Cummersdale, Cumrew, Cumwhitton, Dalston, Farlam, Hayton, Hethersgill, Irthington, Kingmoor, Kingwater, Kirkandrews, Kirklinton Middle, Midgeholme, Nether Denton , Nicholforest, Orton, Rockcliffe, Scaleby, Solport, St Cuthbert Without, Stanwix Rural, Stapleton, Upper Denton, Walton, Waterhead, Westlinton, Wetheral.