Eden is an English district in the shire county (non-metropolitan county OF county) of Cumbria and has 49,777 inhabitants. The surface area is 2142 kmĀ².

18.7% of the population is over 65 years of age. Unemployment is 2.0% of the labor force (2001 census figures).

It is named after river Eden.

Civil parishes in the Eden district:
Ainstable, Alston Moor, Appleby-in-Westmorland, Asby, Askham, Bampton, Barton, Bolton, Brough, Brough Sowerby, Brougham, Castle Sowerby, Catterlen, Cliburn, Clifton, Colby, Crackenthorpe, Crosby Garrett, Crosby Ravensworth, Culgaith, Dacre , Dufton, Glassonby, Great Salkeld, Great Strickland, Greystoke, Hartley, Helbeck, Hesket, Hoff, Hunsonby, Hutton, Kaber, King’s Meaburn, Kirkby Stephen, Kirkby Thore, Kirkoswald, Langwathby, Lazonby, Little Strickland, Long Marton, Lowther, Mallerstang, Martindale, Matterdale, Milburn, Morland, Mungrisdale, Murton, Musgrave, Nateby, Newbiggin, Newby, Ormside, Orton, Ousby, Patterdale, Ravenstonedale, Shap, Shap Rural, Skelton, Sleagill, Sockbridge and Tirril, Soulby, Stainmore, Tebay , Temple Sowerby, Threlkeld, Thrimby, Waitby, Warcop, Wharton, Winton, Yanwath and Eamont Bridge.